Dirk Nowitzki, Gregg Popovich, and Dwyane Wade Headline Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Finalists

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced their list of 12 finalists for their 2023 class on Tuesday. The list includes some of the biggest names in basketball history, such as Dirk Nowitzki, Gregg Popovich, and Dwyane Wade.

The list of finalists was filled with some of the most accomplished and influential players and coaches in the history of the sport. Nowitzki, who retired in 2019 after 21 seasons with the Dallas Mavericks, was a 14-time All-Star, an NBA MVP, and a member of the 2011 NBA championship team. Popovich, the head coach of the San Antonio Spurs for the past 22 seasons, is the longest-tenured coach in the NBA and has won five NBA championships. Wade, who retired in 2019 after 16 seasons, is a three-time NBA champion, a 13-time All-Star, and the 2006 NBA Finals MVP.

The list also includes two college basketball legends, Marian Washington of the University of Kansas and Gene Keady of Kansas State University. Washington was the first African-American woman to coach a men’s basketball team at a major college and Keady is one of the most successful coaches in college basketball history, with a career record of 512-270.

The other finalists are Chris Bosh, Chris Webber, Ben Wallace, Paul Pierce, Jay Wright, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, and Rudy Tomjanovich.

The Hall of Fame will announce the inductees in April.